The Lord is My Song

“The Lord … is my song,” says Isaiah (12:2). That is to say, the Lord is the giver of our songs. He breathes the music into the hearts of His people; He is the Creator of their joy. The Lord is also the subject of their songs. They sing of Him and of all that He does on their behalf. The Lord is, moreover, the object of their song; they sing to the Lord. Their praise is meant for Him alone. They do not make melody for human ears, but to the Lord. “The Lord … is my song.” Then I ought always to sing. And if I sing my loudest, I can never reach the height of this great argument, nor come to the end of it. This song never changes. If I live by faith my song is always the same, for “the Lord … is my song.” Our song to God is God Himself. He alone can express our intensest joy. O God, You are my exceeding joy. Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, You are my hymn of everlasting delight.

—Spurgeon

The grace of God can make us sing when suffering (Acts 16:25), rejoice when persecuted (Acts 5:41), bless when cursed (Matt. 5:44), content when buffeted (2 Cor. 12:7–9), merry when saved (Luke 15:24), joyful when tried (2 Cor. 7:4), and lifted up when cast down (2 Cor. 4:9–11)[1]

I will sing to the Lord, Because He has dealt bountifully with me. (Ps. 13:6 NKJV)

The word bountiful means abundant or giving generously. We all have something that we can praise and sing to the Lord about. Is there a song of the Lord in your heart today? Then Sing, Sing, Sing!!!

Please share with us at Wired for Connection what you are singing about today by tapping the Project Praise tab.


[1] Bryant, A. (1997). Sermon Outlines on the Book of Psalms (11–12). Grand Rapids, MI: Kregel.

, , , , ,

