The Thirsty Soul

Psalm 63:1-11 (NIV)
1 O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
2 I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory.
3 Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you.
4 I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands.
5 My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.
6 On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night.
7 Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.
8 My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.
9 They who seek my life will be destroyed; they will go down to the depths of the earth.
10 They will be given over to the sword and become food for jackals.
11 But the king will rejoice in God; all who swear by God’s name will praise him, while the mouths of liars will be silenced.

As you read through this psalm, notice how personal it was. David had a strong personal relationship with God. This Psalm was written at a low point in David’s life. (II Samuel) David had to flee from the hand of Absalom, his son who sought to kill him. He gave up his kingdom and ran for the safety of the wilderness. It was here in the wilderness that David penned these words. David begins with earnestly seeking after God.God created us with a natural longing for him. Many in our world today admit that there is an innate void in their life. They seek to find it within the pleasures of the world. People are searching in the wrong direction for satisfaction. They need to only seek out a relationship with a personal and loving God. David’s soul was satisfied when he realized that he serves a personal God who cares for him. Does your soul hunger after God? One of the things that can stir up our hunger for God is the spiritual discipline of fasting. “The weakness of our hunger for God is not because he is unsavory, but because we keep ourselves stuffed with “other things.” Perhaps, then, the denial of our stomach’s appetite for food might express, or even increase, our soul’s appetite for God.” (John Piper, Hunger for God.p.10). Are you thirsting after God? Have you witnessed His power and glory? Is your soul satisfied has with the riches of food? During your time of prayer and fasting earnestly seek towards, thirsts for, and long after the presence of our awesome God.

2) Pray for Pastor Matt and the youth ministry. Pray for:

  • Clear vision
  • Commitment to biblical priorities
  • Remain true to his God-given gifts and strengths

, , , ,

