Three for Three – Confession

As we start on our third day of our Daniel Fast my prayer is that you have developed the right attitude and that you have realized that you need to put on the full armor of God to succeed. As we seek to get closer to God day three is all about the three confessions: Christ – Sin – Forgiveness.

First we need to confess that we are nothing without Christ in our lives. John 15:5 says, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

Second we need to confess our sins to the Lord so he can cleanse our hearts. King David wrote in Psalm 52:2-5: Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are proved right when you speak and justified when you judge. Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me.

The third confession is for forgiveness. King David continues in Psalm 51 with these words, “Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity. Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will turn back to you.” With forgiveness comes a new heart of worship and witness. King David connects joy to salvation: “Restore to me the joy of Your salvation” (v. 12). “Salvation” here includes deliverance from the penalty and power of sin. This is God’s gift; it is not our “salvation” but His. As God brings this deliverance, “joy” will come. This is the joy of victory over death. But beyond these benefits, there is the joy of the Lord’s presence. Before the cross Jesus promises His disciples that their sorrow at His death will be short-lived. “I will see you again and your heart will rejoice, and your joy no one will take from you” (John 16:22). In verse 13 notice that because David had the joy of the Lord and admitted that he was a sinner, he can now teach other sinners. He can help them turn to the Lord so they can have the joy of salvation.

During your time of prayer and fasting admit that you are nothing without Jesus. Do you have a sin that you need to confess? Is there an area in your life that you need to give to the Lord? During this time confess your sins and ask the Lord to restore in you the joy of His salvation. Now commit to the Lord that you will teach others to turn from their sinful ways so they too can share in the joy of salvation.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mary Fielding on January 18, 2011 - 7:44 am

    Thanks for these daily posts.

